Too many rabbits…

Well, obviously:

Wandsuna - Remember? Artwork by Ravenari

I’ve been doing so much art and writing lately, that I’ve actually lost track of blogging here. That’s just… incredible. Along with the art and the writing, I’ve been going through something of a PTSD exacerbation since mid-December, and have been feeling less buoyant as a result (somewhat of an understatement). There was a trigger in real life that caused this (a catalyst you might say), so at least I have the ‘comfort’ of knowing it doesn’t come from no where. But at the same time, three and a half months is a long time to deal with an increase in all of my symptoms, from nightmares to bruxing to stomach upsets to flashbacks to losing time to just general miserableness.

*

So, I decided to get some of it out of my system, and returned to the cathartic and personally symbolic Wandsuna series. The Wandsuna series started around 1998, I believe, and back then it was exclusively limited to pastels. But the series has been evolving as I’ve been, and now we’re into inked, bulgy-eyed rabbits:

Wandsuna - Remember - Detail by Ravenari

This illustration, entitled Wandsuna – Remember? is unfinished, and still needs to be coloured, but there is a liminal moment after inking and pre-colouring where I feel I have a finished piece before the piece is a finished piece. It drifts between being complete and not complete. I treat the inking process as a ‘completion,’ and intentionally put more detail into the piece than can be visibly seen post-colouring. We all have secrets. Even the Wandsuna pieces do. What can’t you see behind the colour, even up close? Well…

*

What you can see however, is too many rabbits.

wandsuna - remember - detail 02 by Ravenari

3 thoughts on “Too many rabbits…

  1. I found your blog as I was looking for other bipolar bloggers. And I noticed you are into Young Adult Fiction. “YA” is about ‘young adult’, isn’t? Not ‘YoMamma’s Addicted’ or ‘Yale Almuni” or ‘Yiddish Athletes;. [he he]

    My grand-daughter is 10 years old and she just started blogging book reviews for YA a readership. http://miasbookmark.wordpress.com

    I am astounded by your art! The Rabbit is Escher-like rabbit explosion. I love the intricacy in the pencil strokes. You’re into birds, right! Seen this, I’m sure

    http://www.mcescher.com/Shopmain/ShopEU/facsprints-uk/prints.html

    I just started blogging. Its an explosion of joy for me…but I’m no word artist. Anyway, Its 2 AM in Portland, OR.USA, and I’m going to sleep.

    Nightee!

    • Hiya! Yes, YA is Young Adult though I almost wish it was Yiddish Athletes. 😀

      I do like Escher’s work, though I’m no where near passionate enough to mathematically slot things into each other, I like that wild jumble that is both overwhelming and like ‘oh, lots of rabbits, eh?’

      Welcome to blogging! 😀

Leave a Reply

